Things I’ve Learned at Sea

This post was written 09/05/14.

California to Australia is a long haul, ya’ll. Thousands of kilometers and even more miles than that. 600 times the driving miles from Northern Texas to Southern Mexico. Okay, I made the last part up. The point is, it’s far. So obviously, we have a lot of days at sea.

There are a lot of things you discover on sea days. Unless you’re into only drinking straight up whiskey and craps (the game, just to clarify, given the crowd) on your cruise.

Below you will find a selection of a few things I’ve learned that stick out to me the most.

  • Some people carry business cards with their cabin number professionally printed on them

Yes, I’m not kidding. Do you need more laundry detergent? Sewing supplies? Here’s a business card with my cabin number and name printed on it. While I am struck by the kindness and generosity of those individuals, what happens if you get upgraded?

“Nope, sorry, can’t move to a suite. I already got the business cards printed.”

  • You can make flip-flops more decorative and edgy by tying balloons to them. Or so they said in arts and crafts.

951

  • You learn how to strategically place your camera above your television on self-timer so you don’t have to pay for photos on formal night.

952

  • Going to a nightclub is more fun with an older crowd

I never would have guessed this, but it’s more fun to go dancing on a cruise where the average age verges on 70. Why? Instead of sweaty men (boys) with beer-mouth trying to grind all up behind you, people actually break it down to disco music. If you don’t know what “break it down” is, you should look it up. Learn something new today.

  • You learn to be nice to your cabin steward because then he’ll leave you like, ten chocolates on your bed at night.

And I eat them all.

  • You learn how to balance a fork on a toothpick on top of a wine bottle

953

Now you’ll be able to impress the royal family at a party.

  • You learn that 23 days is in fact, a very long time and coming up with new towel folding creations is an art.

 954

Ummm, seductive…bunny?

One thought on “Things I’ve Learned at Sea

Leave a comment